The Messages app is getting some nice upgrades with iOS 16. One of the main features is the ability to edit iMessages on iPhone after sending them. Read on for a hands-on look at how the feature works as well as its limitations.
Apple’s Messages app received a number of new features with iOS 16. Three major ones are the option to edit iMessages, unsend iMessages altogether, and mark text messages as unread.
Below we will cover how editing iMessages on iPhone works. We also have a dedicated guide on how the iMessage unsend feature works:
Edit iMessages: How does the iPhone feature work in iOS 16
iOS 16 is currently available as a free or paid beta for developers. Learn more about installing iOS 16 in our complete guide.
- When iOS 16 is running on iPhone, open the Messages app
- Find the conversation and message you want to edit
- long press in the message
- Choose release
- Make your changes and tap blue check mark icon
- iMessage editing and unsend features work for up to 15 minutes after sending
Here’s how iMessage editing looks like in iOS 16:
After clicking Edit, click on the text and make the changes, when done, click on the blue check mark on the right side.
After using the iMessage Edit feature, you’ll see the text marked “Editor” next to the read receipt.
Edit iMessage restrictions
Interestingly, when using the iMessage unsend feature in iOS 16, Apple gives a warning that people using older iOS versions will still see the message.
Although there is no similar caveat for using the edit feature, the same applies. If you make an edit to a text you sent to someone with iOS 15 or earlier, they won’t see the edit, only the original message.
The other limitation as mentioned above is that you can only edit iMessages up to 15 minutes after sending. However, you can edit a message multiple times if necessary.
Read more about iOS 16:
FTC: We use affiliate links to earn income. more.
Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news: